Will Power is reaffirmed with his fifth pole of the year
5 years ago

Will Power is reaffirmed with his fifth pole of the year

The abandonment of Will Power in Toronto for an incident outside of his total control smote significantly their choices of title. The australian went on to occupy the fifth position in the general standings, tied with Graham Rahal , and 64 points behind the leader Scott Dixon, a situation not very different from the one lived out in 2016 with Simon Pagenaud. The australian had to react if he wanted to keep alive the options of your second runner-up position, and in Mid-Ohio has begun to lay the foundation of this offensive with his fifth pole position of the season.

The technical and fast track, a classic of the IndyCar series since its debut more than three decades ago, this year she presents the added difficulty of a track patch of form evident in several points, due to the damage the surface suffered in the harsh winter of the northeast of the united States, and this is noted in the times. While the trend this year has been the lowering of the records, has not been the case in Mid-Ohio, and not even any time has dropped from 1:04, being the record of a 1:03.8. In these circumstances, Power moves better than anyone else, and after messing with some other trouble in the Fast Six, marked a 1:04.172 in the final round.

None of their opponents managed to improve the time with which they accessed the Fast Six, and only Josef Newgarden, brand new winner of the last race in Toronto, was able to go to two tenths behind the australian. Takuma Sato, more comfortable than ever and with a riding consistent and fast in the two previous rounds (second on Fast 12), he made a small mistake on his best lap left him half a second, but it was enough to rank in third place, his best grid position in a permanent circuit of the IndyCar series, equalling their performance in this same path in his first season, 2010. This year you will find that the end is different to that found in an accident after 28 laps.

The time of Graham Rahal in the Fast 12 (1:04.082) it would have been to the pole position it repeated in the final round, but the american could not get both game again of your car. All in all, his fourth since extended its good line qualifying, beating the first two of the general. Both Hélio Castroneves as Dixon, the men’s record of Mid-Ohio with two and five victories, respective, were quite discreet, and were going rounds for the hairs, which will share the third line tomorrow. The brazilian will be able to count with the help of the pressure of Simon Pagenaud, the only Penske who stayed on the Fast 12, always and when it can defend itself from James Hinchcliffe.

Alexander Rossi showed a good pace during all the free practice sessions, coming to lead the last batch, which placed him as a candidate to the Fast 6, but in qualifying he ended up missing a couple of tenths keys to move from the ninth position, in which it will share the line with Ryan Hunter-Reay. After them, came the unexpected ‘cameo’ of Conor Daly and Esteban Gutierrez. The u.s. is planted for the first time this year in a Fast 12, being the second of Coyne after the Carlos Muñoz in St. Petersburg, and evened the eleventh instead of the colombian. For his part, Gutierrez has reached its first Fast 12, in its third classification ‘knock-out’ in the IndyCar series, with the hope of turning it into a first top 10.

Although the second group of the first round saw some surprises significant, including the off back of a Mikhail Aleshin that will last, the first saw as Tony Kanaan threw overboard his time, enough to pass round, to commit a spin that invalidated the times of other riders. A significant blow on a track that win from positions delayed it is extremely difficult, but not impossible: the only two cases of winners that came out of the top 10 in 32 editions were in 2014 (Dixon, 22) and 2015 (Rahal, 13th). As of 21:40 pacific time (Movistar Sports 1), the already charismatic departure from the straight back to give way to 90 frenetic laps.

Classification of the 200 miles of Mid-Ohio 2017

Pos Pilot Engine R1 G1 R1 G2 Fast 12 Fast 6
1 Will Power Penske Chevrolet 1:04.248 1:04.250 1:04.172
Josef Newgarden Penske Chevrolet 1:04.216 1:04.192 1:04.306
Takuma Sato Andretti Honda 1:04.373 1:04.184 1:04.679
Graham Rahal Rahal Honda 1:04.193 1:04.082 1:04.795
Hélio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet 1:04.414 1:04.253 1:04.848
Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda 1:04.410 1:04.256 1:05.192
Simon Pagenaud Penske Chevrolet 1:04.359 1:04.300
James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Honda 1:04.821 1:04.378
Alexander Rossi Andretti Honda 1:04.315 1:04.490
10th Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Honda 1:04.463 1:04.492
11º Conor Daly Foyt Chevrolet 1:04.962 1:04.874
12º Esteban Gutierrez Coyne Honda 1:04.778 1:05.036
13º Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda 1:04.993
14º Marco Andretti Andretti Honda 1:04.592
15º Ed Jones Coyne Honda 1:05.033
16º Spencer Pigot Carpenter Chevrolet 1:04.618
17º Tony Kanaan Ganassi Honda 1:05.320
18º Max Chilton Ganassi Honda 1:04.860
19º J. R. Hildebrand Carpenter Chevrolet 1:05.338
20º Carlos Muñoz Foyt Chevrolet 1:04.944
21º Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Honda 1:05.244

linkes Administrator

Leave a comment